Days 0677, 0678 & 0679

When I raised the fact that I had no friends with He Who Shall Not Be Named I got this response:

Aren’t I your friend?

When I volunteered at a women’s shelter for a short period – much to his disinterest – I was confronted by a pamphlet that said:

Does he isolate you from others and prevent you from forming friendships?

That coincided pretty much with my moving to a job where I finally found My People. So I stuck my toe in the water and started sharing some ‘ I can’t believe my spouse did x and y’ stories.

And much to my emerging horror the reactions I got weren’t shakes of the head and laughing ‘oh my’s but genuine horror quickly disguised as changes in subject.

Apparently not everyone gets SCREAMED at for cutting the capsicum in the ‘wrong’ direction.

Not everyone has to be the parents who gets up in the kiddie of the night every single time without end.

And when other people have

Minor eye surgery their partners actually don’t tell them they’re lazy, milking it and ‘GET THE FUCK UP AND HELP’ when the baby needs to be resettled in the night.

Having friends removed the scales from my eyes.

One thought on “Days 0677, 0678 & 0679

Leave a comment