Day 0484

When I was 19 I had the strange experience of having a female friend dump me. She did it by phone and it was over a boy: well, two boys to be exact. But she told me it was because I was ‘too happy’ and that annoyed her so … She wasn’t interested in spending time with me anymore.
It actually made me laugh; it was so absurd.
I’ve long wondered why she chose that lie to explain her decision to me.
Perhaps she was just feeling bitchy and telling me I was too happy was her way of scratching my eyes out nor trying to make me feel inferior.
Unfortunately her long distance boyfriend, who she cheated on in my presence, had a crush on me for many years. I suspect that made her edgy though I don’t think I ever passed anything onto him about what she was up to.
It was impressive how utterly this woman cut me off: from friend I saw constantly and shared lunchtimes with everyday to someone who hugged her nose in the air and pretended I didn’t exist for the next three years of a degree program in which we were two of just 12 students.
She was committed, I’ll give her that.
She eventually married a dental hygienist and I just say there was a certain sense if kharma in that fate.
Dingbat is the word that keeps popping into my head as I contemplate this memory – and what I fabulous word it is.

Leave a comment